Mennonite Historical Society of Alberta


About MHSA

Registered as a Society with the Alberta Government and as a Charity with the Canadian Government (#86568 6166 RR0001).

What We Do

History - in all the ways it can be expressed are at the core of the MHSA. We want to:

  • search for, collect and preserve materials related to Alberta Mennonites' history,
  • provide access to these materials, and
  • bring together those interested in Alberta's Mennonite history

Our Executive

  • Chair: - Calgary (2010-2013)
  • Vice Chair: Ralph Dahl - Calgary (2009-2012)
  • Treasurer: Ellie Janz - Calgary (2010-2013)
  • Secretary: Katie Harder - Didsbury (2011-2014)
  • Member at Large: Anna Marie Boyes - Calgary (2010-2013)
  • Member at Large: Dave Neufeldt - Lethbridge (2010-2013)

Area Representatives

The role of Representative is one of cheerfully reporting on historical events in their geographic region, liaising with the local churches, and participating on the Board of the MHSA.

  • Northern Alberta: Suzane Braun Hanser
  • Edmonton Area: Colin Neufeldt
  • Tofield Area: Vacant
  • Carstairs/Didsbury Area: Vacant
  • Calgary Area: Irene Klassen
  • Eastern Irrigation District Area: Mary Burkholder
  • Coaldale Area: Dave Neufeldt


  • Archives Advisory Committee:
  • Editorial Advisory Committee:
  • Facilities Committee: Vacant
  • Nominating Committee: Dave Neufeldt

Other Active Volunteers

  • Library & Archives Coordinator: Vacant
  • Genealogy Projects, Archives: Vacant
  • Website:
  • Newsletter Team:
    • Lorne Buhr, Editor
    • Dave Toews, Editor
    • Dave Hildebrand, Publisher

General Queries/Comments: Contact MHSA